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Today’'s Topics
Determine if You're Holding
Unclaimed Property

Perform Due Diligence

Holder Notice and Remit Reports
(California’s two-report process)

Interest/Penalties




Unclaimed Property in California

° History

The Unclaimed Property Program started in 1959 as part of a nationwide
system to provide customer protection. The program exists to relieve
businesses and financial institutions (holders) of the burden and liability of
maintaining the property. In California, the State Controller’s Office
(SCO) manages this program. P

® Detinition =

Unclaimed property is generally defined as any financial asset that has

been left inactive by the owner for a period of time specitied by law,

generally three (3) years.




Unclaimed Property in California

Examples of Unclaimed Property

Commissions ® Vendor Payments
Ordered Refunds Checking Accounts
Wages Stocks and Bonds
Cashier’s Checks ‘ Written Instruments
Demand Deposits (Checking) Money Orders
Dividends, Interest Traveler’s Checks

IRAs Liquidating Distributions
Keogh Plans Overpayments

Matured Time Deposits Pre-Payments

Safe-Deposit Boxes Other property belonging to
Savings Accounts someone other than the
business holding it




Unclaimed Property Division - Mission

® To reunite lost and abandoned property with the rightful owner.

e To safeguard these properties from being used by private interests for

personal gain.

Provide a central source for owners to locate and claim property.

Relieve the holders from the expense and liability associated with the

property.

Ensure that any economic windfalls benefit the citizens of California.




Fast Facts

e All States, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the U.S.
Virgin Islands, and three Canadian Provinces (Quebec,
British Columbia, and Alberta) have Unclaimed Property
Programs. »

California Statistics for Fiscal Year 2015-16: ,
e $8.4 billion — UCP available to be claimed " ¥~ N
33,524 — UCP reports submitted this report cycle
$735.2 million — Cash received
567,257 — Number of properties paid

$307.6 million — Amount of money disbursed for
claims (average amount paid per property $542)




California’s Reporting Process Overview
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Holder Action: Where to Report

You must report to California if the last known
address of the owner is:

* in California,
* in a state that does not provide by law for
escheat of such property,

*in a foreign country and the holder is domiciled
in California, or

* unknown and the holder is domiciled in
California.




Are You Holding Unclaimed Property?

® Businesses are required to review their books and records

annually to determine if they are holding unclaimed

property.

* If property has remained unclaimed or in inactive accounts
for the required dormancy period, it must be reported to the
State (Civil Code of Procedure section 1500 et seq.).

° Identify Property Type and Dormancy Period

- Decide if property has been dormant long enough to report.

® Determine Date of Last Contact

- Determines when to complete due diligence and report.




Holder Action: ldentify Property Type

Payroll Checks (1 year dormancy)
Accounts Payable Checks — vendor payments (3 year dormancy)
Refunds (3 year dormancy)

Accounts Receivable — customer credit refunds, overpayments (3 year

dormancy)

Credit Balances (3 ycar dormancy)

Bank Accounts (3 year dormancy)
Customer Overpayments (3 year dormancy)
Insurance Proceeds (3 ycar dormancy)
Money Orders (7 year dormancy)

Traveler’s Checks (15 year dormancy)




Holder Action:
Determine Date of Last Contact

The date of last contact is:

® The date that the property became payable or distributable to the

owner (for example, the issue date of a check).

® The date on which the last deposit or withdrawal occurred.

This date determines when due diligence is performed

and when the property is reported.




Holder Action:
Determine “As Of” Date

* This is the date that defines the end of a period of time in which
property is reportable.

* Must be your fiscal year end date, the State’s fiscal year end date

(June 30), or December 31 for life insurance companies.

* Determines which properties will be reported on your
Holder Notice Report.

* Must be included on the Universal Holder Face Sheet (UFS-1).

* This date must be used consistently to avoid problems with

interest/ penalties.




3-Year Dormancy - 2018 Cycle

Fiscal Year
End
(As of Date)

Last
Transaction
Date

Due Diligence Must
be Performed

Holder Notice
Report Due
Before

Holder Remit Report
& Remittance Due

6/30/2018

7/1/14 —
6/30/15

10/31/17 - 4/30/18

11/1/2018

6/1/19 -6/15/19

12/31/2017

1/1/14 -
12/31/14

10/31/17 - 4/30/18

11/1/2018

6/1/19 - 6/15/19

Life
Insurance
Companies

12/31/17

1/1/14 -
12/31/14

4/30/17 — 10/31/17

5/1/2018

12/1/2018 — 12/15/2018




3-Year Dormancy - 2017 Cycle

Fiscal Year
End
(As of Date)

Last
Transaction
Date

Due Diligence Must
be Performed

Holder Notice
Report Due
Before

Holder Remit Report
& Remittance Due

6/30/2017

7/1/13 -
6/30/14

10/31/16 — 4/30/17

11/1/2017

6/1/18 - 6/15/18

12/31/2016

1/1/13 -
12/31/13

10/31/16 — 4/30/17

11/1/2017

6/1/18 - 6/15/18

Life
Insurance
Companies

12/31/16

1/1/13 -
12/31/13

4/30/16 — 10/31/16

5/1/2017

12/1/2017 - 12/15/2017




Holder Action: Perform Due Diligence

* Due diligence is the process of attempting to locate the owner(s) of
dormant property valued at $50 or more before escheating the property
to the State.

Due diligence is mandated by California state law (CCP 1513.5, 1514,
1516, and 1520).

Holders are respon51ble for notlfvlng property owners before the
deadline for reporting the property to the State.

Reasonable efforts must be made to locate the owners and send a notice
to their last known address.

If contact is made with the property owner, the property is no longer
dormant/unclaimed.




Holder Action: Perform Due Diligence
* Mail the Due Diligence Letter

Centered heading that reads: “THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA REQUIRES
USTO NOTIFY YOUTHATYOUR UNCLAIMED PROPERTY MAY BE
TRANSFERRED TO THE STATE IF YOU DO NOT CONTACT US.”

Notice must clearly state that the property will escheat to the State if a

timely response to the notification is not received.

Notice must be sent if the holder has in its records an address for the

apparent property owner, which the holder’s records do not disclose
to be inaccurate.

Notice can be sent electronically with the property owner’s consent or

mailed to the property owner'’s last known address.

Notice must include a form for the owner to indicate an interest in the

property (except for safekeeping properties).

A holder can charge up to $2 for the cost of sending the notice when
the properties being reported have a value of $50 or greater (greater
than $2 for banking and financial institutions).




XYZ Company
1234 MAIN STREET » SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA 99999

“THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA REQUIRES US TO NOTIFY YOU THAT YOUR UNCLAIMED
PROPERTY MAY BE TRANSFERRED TO THE STATE IF YOU DO NOT CONTACT US.”

Jamuary 1, 2010

Owner Name Account Number: 1234
Address
City State Zip

Dear Mr. or Mrs.

California Unclaimed Property Law requires XY7 Company to transfer funds from deposit.
account, shares, or other interest to the State Controller’s Office (SCO) if the account has been
inactive for three vears. According to our records, there has been no customer activity on vour
account for more than two vears. Therefore, vour property is in danger of escheating to the state
unless you contact us or respond by completing, signing. and returning this notice to:

XY7Z Company
1234 Main Street
Sacramento, CA 99999

Emal Address;jsmith{@xyzcompany.com
TEL. (800)123-4567 FAX (800) 123-0111

If your account is transferred to the SCO, you will be required to submit a claim to the SCO in
accordance with the provisions of the Califorma Code of Civil Procedure in order to recover 1t

Please check the appropniate box._ sign mn the space provided below, and return to us as scon as possible
to avoid having your account escheated to the SCO.

I wish to maintain thas account: by signing and returmng this notice, I am satisfying the requirements of
the Code of Civil Procedure by indicating an interest in the account and my desire that XY Z Bank
maintain this account on my behalf

Please update my address(es) as follows:

I wish to close the account. Please send a check for the closeout amount.

(Signature) (Date)

'We appreciate your assistance m this matter. Please contact our office if you have any questions or if we
can be of assistance to you in any way.

Smcerely,
John Smuth

Accounting Department
XYZ Company




California’s Two-Report Process

Holder Notice Report (before November 1) —

Do Not Remit Property

Holder Remit Report (June 1-15) —

Remit Property




California’s Two-Report Process
 Holder Notice Report — Do Not Remit Property

* First report in the two-report process.
* Due annually.
e Submitted after holder due diligence is performed.

* Due before November 1.

* Must be received in the office before November 1; a

postmark is not acceptable.

* Must be in correct format (Standard NAUPA 1II).

* Includes a complete listing of all properties that
remain unclaimed.




Submitting the Holder Notice Report

Two possible options:

1. Electronic Report — Must be used when reporting

10 or more properties.

* Free software can be found at

www.unclaimed.org/ reporting

2. Paper Report — May be used when reporting nine

properties or less.

* Must use the Annual Report of Unclaimed Personal Property
Owner Detail Sheet (UDS-1).



https://www.unclaimed.org/reporting/

Submitting the Holder Notice Report

Your Holder Notice Report consists of:

1. UFS-1
2. UDS-1 or CD/Disk in Standard NAUPA II Format




UNNERSAL HOLDER FN:E SHEET (must te computes st stmched wen wb raports, faiors & 2 a muy remdt 0 Frisret ssasmrert]
UF5-1(Rev. 01/15)

‘State of Caifomis—Controders Report IDE® (RemE Report Only)
Seguirsd
dall e Office of Staie Conbrolier Bel®y T. Yee, Undaimed Propesty Division, P.O. Box 343850, Sacramenio, CA 34350

Mofice Bepori, Or Semit Beport,
O Due Before November 1 or O Due Between June 1 and June 15 or
O mmmwmi O Lre inswrance Due Between December 1 and December 15

O Supplemental NOUCE REDON  (Frocerses net isused o= e kot Rasort carrst be S o= $ie fere Reort e must e reoied on 3 Sucpsermerest ket ce fasort)

FEIN Branch Mumber | FReport As of Date: ‘Check Number | EFT Debit Ref Number (RemE Repart Onily)

Section B—Holder Contact Information |Holder Name

State |f.:unnr
The

[

Q’gmm
Incorporation State: Incorporation Date: Chartes: Federal O or State O Charer Date [/

Section H- Demutualization Proceeds T o

Dare of Demutuakzanon ————————— O CCP Section 15155 (a) O CCP Section 15155 () O ©CCP Section 15155 (c)

Section - Transfer Agent (If Applicable) Ingent!lame

Strest Address:

P.0_ Box Number [o= Iu-g ]mouﬂe

J - WeriMoation I made by an individual, shall be verfied by T ¥ mace by 3 by 3 pariner, If made by an unincoporated
Mm oy an oficer; if made by a public corporation, by i chief fiscal officer or other empioyee aulhorized by the hoider |CCP Secton 1530je))

The tﬂuﬂ under penalty of perury, Tat, o the best of (his) (her) knowienge and belef, the foliowing sheess:
contsin a fuil, rue, report of propesty which unider the pr FI!!\.T*‘U.MT Code of Civil Procedure,
mmmw1mmmammmm Secions 1150 et seq. The &l properties nod listed on the
Fomit Roport, which sers initiafly inc ksded on the Noics FEEOr, wors dUS I Comiact by e SPParent cwner, or e Property being rectivarsd or rehamed o the
gl owner

Signature Title Date

UFS-1 (Rev 01/15)




Submitting the Holder Notice Report
® The Supplemental Holder Notice Report

® If the holder identifies additional property owner accounts that
were not included on the original Holder Notice Report, they
must be reported on a separate “Supplemental Holder Notice
Report”.

® May affect your remit due date.

® The SCO will send a separate Holder Remit Report Reminder
Letter (14F) identitying the Report ID and the date the Holder
Remit Report is due.




After the Holder Notice Report is
Received

® Once the Holder Notice Report is processed and cleared, the SCO
will send the holder a 14F identifying the report ID and the Holder
Remit Report due date.

® The 14F must be signed and returned later with the Holder Remit Report to

expedite report processing.

® The SCO will also send out a notice to all property owners listed on

the report with properties valued at $50 or greater, and for all stocks

and sate deposit box properties.

® This letter instructs the property owner to contact the holder to reclaim their

property before it escheats to the State.




UFD Report IDY 123456
Contact Name Report Received Date 10.30,2013
Halder Name Reported Amount i ]
Hulder Address Reported £ ofShares )
Holder Address £ of Safekeeping Repositories 00
Remit Report Due Date 6/12014-6/15/2014

The St Controliers Office (S00), Unchimed Property Division, has recaived your Holder Motice Report. This reminder letier is o infbrm
you thatyour Holder Ramit Report, Song with the dalivenyor emittance of 3ll remaining wndsimed property; is due to the 500 on the date
spedifed abowe. If the Remit Rieport and remitence are notreceived by the 500 during the spediiied timefame, holders wil be subject b inErest
sss=ssmeant at 3 rate of 123 per annum (Californiz Code of Civil Procedure Section 1577}, Holders of Safz Deposit Boves or Saikesping

FESWEIEW maintzin the reporied conEnts wntl contcted by the 5C0. IF the property has besn retumed o the owner, submizsion of 3
1 form{Raw. 0512} is hill required byrtha SC0

Caromia Stare Conmmier
UNCLAIVED FROFPEFT Y DIVEION

Heilder Remit R=port Requirementz Guiddines:

»  Accounts Included on the HolderNodce Reporr thar Are No Longer Undl ofivate owner propetiss.
when the propertyowner contacts them prior to the date mquired o remit te p ) % nits thatwers reporied on
the Holder Notice Report that are no bnger undiaimed because ofowng Hao Famit Repaort, the holder
shall ©llow the reporfing instrucions for the specific format in whigg prti ing) ¥ MALPA || or Paper rmats,
the holder mayeither sxplude the owner scoownts from the = i = on e reportw ith the
approprize Pad or Daetion Code. For il other mats ¥ m the report. Plzase note that the
heckder will b signing an afirmartion on the UFS-1 brm : I thatall 3 on the Holder Notice Report that are
not induded on the Holder Remit Report 3 E > = no longer #insidered undsimed dus o owner contect o return of
the propertyto e owner. Reporting forme i St W 500080

New Accounts not Incdud . gnude sooounts on the Holder Remit Report that wers not dentifed on
the origina Hol:ler Motice i gz unclsimed propetycan be tensred o the s, the 500 must send 3
] : i Sﬂo perty fom the holder beire itis rans&rmed. Thersibre, a%an properties
uid be reporied on 3 ssparstE Supplementsl Holder Motice Report and not

iz Funds Transfer {EFT) i the amount is 520,000 ar
EFT o is free to holders. However, other
uchons awaibble at waw scoagoy. To
ca.govor (3153) 464-0220.

Transfer of Sacurides - The holder shall m-ragister the ES trolier, State of Calibrnis. The securties shal
be deliversd to the SO0 sither vis Sectonictransiar to wi roker, through the Deposiony Trust Company
{DTC) ar by submitfing 3 duplicate cerificate. The 500 preE

hard copyof the 55-1 form {Rev. 0341 1) isregquired with the

elecironically; remitiers are d=o eguired o email the 551 for L 0311) o the 300 at ucpdices1 ffsoo s govand o the 300's
contracied broker at cslifstaemal@wsls Srgosdveors comat hours prior o ransi&r. The SC0% contacred broker will reje
security pensfer withour proper nodficaton. For mors inforriation regarding transfeming securifies, please contactour Reconcilaton staf
at UPDSecR=coniTsco ca.gov.

Required Forms - A hard copy of the UFS-1 brm {Rev. 06112} is equired with ewenyreport. The 55-1 form{Raw. 03/11) is reguired fr all
reports thatindeds securities that are being reported and remitied. In addition tothe formys) above, & copy of this notice is also required
when submitmng yourHolder Remic Repot. Instructions ©r the Holder Remit Reports ars swsilable on owr website st www. soo cagow. IF
you hawve questions regarding this remindsr letier, please oall the Undsimed Property Peporting Unit at {315) 4545284 or emai
wopEportingdson ca.0ov.
This reminder letter and ywour remitsnce of the Re Arnount 3nd Reporied # of Shares, ssdeinested sbowe, must be received within the &
range in the Remit R=port Due Dst= f2d showe. ollow 3l EFT and Transier of Securities instrucons locsied in the Holder Handbook: st
wara . 500.C:8.gew when remitting the property:

Sign and date this form and retum it with your Holder Remit Report to expedite processing:




If the Property Owner Contacts You

® The property owner can contact you in any of the following ways:
* Telephone
* Email
* Fax
®* Written Notification

° In-person

e Reimburse the property owner directly up until the Holder Remit Report

® This contact stops the property from escheating.

is due.




Submitting the Holder Remit Report

Second and final step of two-report process

* Holder Remit Report is due between June 1-15 and includes:
° UFS-1
* ReportID #
® Section A (Check #, EFT #)

® Section F must equal the total amounts reported on the list of property owners.

UDS-1 or CD/Disk in Standard NAUPA II Format
e FEIN
® $ Amount Reported

o ReportYear
e Holder Name

Remittance
Holder Remit Reminder Letter ( 14F) Form

Securities Summary ( SS-I) Form




Submitting the Holder Remit Report

* Property reported on the Holder Notice Report but subsequently
claimed by the owner should be:

1. Excluded from the Holder Remit Report; or

2. Reported with the appropriate pay or deletion type code

with the amount remitted shown as zero.

e List of property owners on the Holder Remit Report should

match the list of property owners on the previously submitted
Holder Notice Report.

® No new properties can be listed/remitted; remittances of new
properties will be returned to the holder. Instead, submit a

Supplemental Holder Notice Report for new properties.




Submitting the Holder Remit Report

Remitting Money

* $20,000 or More

Holder shall submit payment of unclaimed cash in
the amount of $20,000 or more by Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT), pursuant to
CCP section 1532. Failure to make payment by electronic funds transfer

when required will result in the assessment of a 2% penalty.

* Holders shall remit funds by Automated Clearing House (ACH) Debit, ACH Credit,

Fedwire, or International Funds Transfer.

Note: The SCO encourages holders to consider using the ACH Debit option.

e Amounts Under $20,000
* Holders may remit funds by EFT or check.




Other Report Types

o Negative Report (NIL) - Holders that neither hold nor owe unclaimed
property are not required to submit a report, although it is recommended
that they do so by completing and filing the UFS-1 form only. The SCO

may require the filing of such a report by sending notification to the holder.

* Supplemental Holder Notice Report - If the holder identifies
accounts that were not included on the original Holder Notice Report, they

must be reported on a separate Supplemental Holder Notice Report.




Avoid Interest, Fines, and Penalties

Submit your Reports on Time

® (California has a 12% per annum interest charge on late reports and remittances

(CCP §1577).

® Remit Property on Time

* A fine can be assessed by the courts for willful failure to report/remit/deliver

OR filing a fraudulent report.
-$100 per day ($10,000 maximum) for failure to report (CCP §1576(a))
-$5,000 — $50,000 for refusing to deliver property (CCP §1576(b))

e A Civil Penalty of 2% of the payment amount will be administratively

assessed when the remittance is over $20,000 and was not remitted by EFT

(CCP §1532(g)).




Common Reporting Errors

® Reporting property too early.

® Remitting property ($) with the Holder Notice
Report.

® Incorrect file format.
- Not in Standard NAUPA II Electronic File Format.
- Paper report exceeds limit, ten or more properties.

- Failure to sign the UFS-1 with each report.




Common Reporting Errors

e Invalid property type codes.

e Invalid property starting transaction date or date of last contact

(DLC).

* Invalid joint owners/ relationship codes.

® [ack of social security number.

i /A
- c

e Not following State specific requirements.

/
—~-
»




Common Reporting Errors

Electronic Filing

* After the report has been developed using the file/record format
requirements it must be burned to a CD or ﬂoppy disk

(one or more reports may be copied to a single file).




Common Remittance Errors

Remittance not submitted with the Holder Remit Report.

Proof of securities remittance not included with the Holder Remit

Report.
More than one check included with the Holder Remit Report.

Remitting a check for unclaimed property amounts exceeding
$20,000 (payment of unclaimed cash in the amount of $20,000 or
greater shall be made by electronic funds transter, CCP §1532).




Frequently Asked Questions

What is the report “As of” date?

® The “As of” date is the holder’s fiscal year-end, or June 30; the

“As of” date for life insurance companies is December 31.

® The “As of” date is not the date the report was due, created, or
submitted.




Frequently Asked Questions

After sending in our Holder Notice Report, all
properties were returned to their rightful owners.

Do we still need to submit a Holder Remit Report?

Yes. A Negative Report (NIL) should still be submitted.




Frequently Asked Questions

After sending in our Holder Notice Report, several
properties were returned to their rightful owners.

Do we still need to submit a Holder Remit Report?

Yes. When completing the Holder Remit Report, remove or

adjust all properties no longer reportable.




Frequently Asked Questions

Our firm just submitted our Holder Notice Report and
left off five properties. Is it okay to add these properties
to the Holder Remit Report when we file in June?

No. Any new property that was not included on the original
Holder Notice Report must be reported on a Supplemental
Holder Notice Report.




Frequently Asked Questions

Does California offer a voluntary disclosure program
(VDA)?

No. There is no statutory authority in California for such a

pl‘O gram .




Frequently Asked Questions

Canl request an Interest waiver?

The Unclaimed Property Division does not have the statutory

authority to waive the interest. All interest waiver requests must
be considered and decided by the SCO Legal Office. The SCO
Legal Office can be reached at (916) 445-6854.




Frequently Asked Questions

What is the dormancy period for an IRA?

The dormancy period is three years, so IRAs are reportable 3
years after:

® Date of mandatory distribution if the IRA /retirement plan has a

mandatory distribution date or age;

® The owner reaches 70 and "2 years of age, if there is no mandatory

distribution.

The bank cannot escheat the IRA if the owner has another active account.




Compliance & Outreach Resources

Holder Handbook —This is a compilation of reporting instructions, laws,
codes and regulations.
Holder Notices — Holder notices alert the holder community to important

Changes or new information. You may sign up on our website to receive all

notices sent to holders.

Holder Newsletter —The Holder Newsletter is a quarterly newsletter to
holders which identifies important upcoming dates and summarizes changes in
the law and reporting tips.

Unclaimed Property Division Events Page — View the list of upcoming
events, as well as past webinar videos, and sign up to receive notifications about
future workshops, seminars, and events.

Outreach and Compliance Unit

* Site visits or speaking engagements
* Webinars

* One-on-one assistance




Reporting Resources List

SCO Reporting Page:

http://www.sco.ca.gov/upd rptg.html

Holder Handbook:

http://www.sco.ca.gov/Files-UPD/guide rptg holderhandbook.pdf

Unclaimed Property Law and Regulations:

http: / /WWW.Sco.ca.gov/upd Iawrcgs.html

Dormancy Period Tables:
http: //\\'\VVW.sco.ca.gov/Filcs—UPD/outrcach rpt&ho] dormancy.pdf

Property Reporting Cycle Tables:

http://www.sco.ca.gov/upd rptg.html

Holder Notices:

http://www.sco.ca.gov/ucp holder notification email.html
Holder Newsletter:

http: / / WWW.SCO.cCa. gov/ upd rptg outreach . html

Unclaimed Property Division Events Page:
http: / /WwWw.sco.ca.gov/ upd events. html
NAUPA:

http: / / WWW. unclaimed.org/ reporting/ free—holder—reporting—software/



http://www.sco.ca.gov/upd_rptg.html
http://www.sco.ca.gov/Files-UPD/guide_rptg_holderhandbook.pdf
http://www.sco.ca.gov/upd_lawregs.html
http://www.sco.ca.gov/Files-UPD/outreach_rptg_hol_dormancy.pdf
http://www.sco.ca.gov/upd_rptg.html
http://www.sco.ca.gov/ucp_holder_notification_email.html
http://www.sco.ca.gov/upd_rptg_outreach.html
http://www.sco.ca.gov/upd_events.html
http://www.unclaimed.org/reporting/free-holder-reporting-software/

Contact Information

California State Controller’s Office
Unclaimed Property Division

10600 White Rock Road, Ste 141, Rancho Cordova, CA 95670

Holder Outreach & Compliance Unit
(916) 464-6088

UPDHolderQutreach ((f,‘ SCO.Ca.gov

Reporting Unit
(916) 464-6284

UCPReportin g((j)isco. Cca.gov

Questions regarding EFT Remittance
(916) 464-6220
UPDSCOEFT@sco.ca.gov

Claims Assistance
(800) 992-4647

www.claimit.ca.oov

Visit our Website: WWW.SCO0.Ca.gov



mailto:UPDHolderOutreach@sco.ca.gov
mailto:UCPReporting@sco.ca.gov
mailto:UPDSCOEFT@sco.ca.gov
http://www.claimit.ca.gov/

